The Best Migration Plan for Young Singaporeans

If you are planning to migrate to Australia, here’s some good advice before you strike it out:

Define

Ask yourselves these few fundamental questions and judge if you genuinely want to make such a commitment:

Why do you want to migrate?

  • Difference in values, religion or culture?
  • Work-life balance?
  • Education?
  • Family issues?
  • Securing you and your family’s future?

What do you want to do after migration?

Why migrate now and why not in x years? You can refer to my reasons for migrating here: https://cowpehcowbu.wordpress.com/2013/10/17/i-am-not-a-fucking-quitter/

By the way, I am sponsoring my parents as PRs here because the social safety net is much better. Here’s a sneak peak:

143

Plan

How can I be eligible for migration? Download the instructions manual here: http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/pdf/1119.pdf

Mandatory tasks: To be eligible for skilled migration, you have to secure enough points under the Skillselect points system. Some skills get you some priority i.e. Accountants, nurses and plumbers etc (Refer to the SOL: http://www.immi.gov.au/Work/Pages/skilled-occupations-lists/sol.aspx) Fresh graduates may apply.

Second in priority, refer to the CSOL: http://www.immi.gov.au/Work/Pages/skilled-occupations-lists/csol.aspx (I got through under the CSOL)

Visas recommended:  subclass 189 or 190. There are lots of other permanent visas available depending on your circumstances. You can find it here: www.immi.gov.au/Visas/Pages/Find-a-visa.aspx (Hint, select purpose: Work in Australia)

find a visa

Alternatively you can contact a local migration agent to recommend and plan with you. (Fees: $4000 – 8000) I was too busy with my work so I paid $4000 to Andrew Graham to do everything for me. http://www.graham-nguyen.com/

By the way, some migration agents in Singapore totally suck and/or expensive while some are unregistered. Check the register for prior complaints and price before engaging anyone of them: https://www.mara.gov.au/search-the-register-of-migration-agents/

Resources required: At the minimum, you need $10,000 – $11,000 to pay for application fees including the $4000 agent fee. Of course, you can do without the agent if you have the time and you do the correct things with the applications and assessment.

How much do I need to live in Australia? Well, it varies in different states and also depends on your housing and consumption requirements. I have written a few articles about it here,  here and here.

Family and spousal support: Well, what can I say, perhaps you may want to seek their blessings and support. I told my parents that I will ensure they don’t retire in JB’s or Batam’s old folks home. They will have two homes in Singapore and Australia. There’s alot of space and resources for them to retire happily. For my wife, I told her that she will have better pay jobs here and our baby will grow up happily in Australia, receive free education up till university.

Environmental adaptation analysis: I feel its important to survey the ground before you actually decide to settle at your desired location. I did mine. You may want to travel a few states before you decide on one. Check prices on food and lodging. Check if the environment is secure and check if there are jobs for you. Finally, evaluate your plan.

I didn’t expect anything out of the ordinary when I migrated. However, I did expect to experience some adaptation issues and emotional hardship whilst settling down in Brisbane. I think my wife suffered the most after falling pregnant and had to quit her job here in Brisbane. Other than that, it was all smooth sailing and we had lots of surprises! Some people will warn you about being second class citizens here blah blah. Well, aren’t we already second class back in Singapore? By the way, we Singaporeans can assimilate better than other nationalities because of our language proficiency and some cultural similarities. Unconvinced, read this.

Implementation

Before you go, be sure to keep a checklist of things to pack and to do before you fly off. For example, how to quit your job? How to minimize your telco termination fees? Which bank accounts and credit cards to maintain? Get a power of attorney to handle financial, HDB and other matters while you are in Australia. Most importantly, get ready to live the Aussie lifestyle. I.e. They have longer and more holidays, and they like Alcohol. Its cheap here. Be prepared to buy in bulk for the week, learn to cook because Asian food here isn’t as good as what you find in Singapore.

As for me, my wife just given birth a couple of months ago. It cost nothing to give birth here, and we have other benefits like family tax benefit and monetary supplement (varies on circumstances), free dental and healthcare (for all of us) and free ante and post-natal classes, free house visits by midwives and free swimming lessons for baby. They even offered to sponsor my masters degree… but I told them I was graduating. Some say benefits in Singapore are still better… well then you should stay then.

As for my parents, they said they won’t be suitable living in Australia for the long term because all their friends and relatives live in Singapore and Malaysia. It would be very boring here. But they want to come and live for a couple of months, travel around Australia every year when they retire. They want to bring friends and relatives here to enjoy too!

Cowpeh

Tock cock sing song play mahjong here:

