Fundamentally flawed education system: This is Singapore! Part 1

20130616-133000.jpg

Refer to the *** section if you want to read some shit which may really happen to you.

Students in Singapore must be given a second chance in education. Once you blew it, there is no turning back.

When I barely passed my A levels, I was told I could not repeat the course unless I failed my General paper. I got a C6, a shit pass. I did not qualify for any local university too… So i have to fuck off to national service. I thought I was intelligent until I realized I was foolish, I wished I could repeat the year again only because i wanted to do better. Haunted me till now.

My younger brother was worse off I guess. He was a late bloomer. In Primary 4, aged 9-10, his fate was predetermined. He was streamed to EM3, destined for technical education. From then on, he topped his class every year till he completed secondary school. He was not required to take the O levels. When he completed his IT diploma in Singapore Polytechnic, he was already 26 years old. His GPA was 3.6 out of 4. In my opinion, that’s a fantastic result but he said he should get some work experience before embarking on a degree course. Anyway, NUS NTU and SMU are out of the question, his friend who got the same GPA couldn’t get in because he didn’t take O levels.

As a brother, I was mad at the shit education system. I knew the O levels are important. Back when he was 14 years old, he topped the class at secondary 2 normal technical levels and the whole family went to the principal’s office to ask for a lateral transfer to secondary 2 Normal academic where he would have a chance to take up the O levels. This principal by the name of Mdm Tan Miau Ling of Regent Secondary school flatly denied our request and repeatedly said she can’t do so as its the MOE policy (ministry of education)they have to adhere to. I was 16 years old then, also among the top in class in the express triple science class and remembered telling her that i could help my brother in his studies. I was ignored. We even suggested that could start at secondary 1 Normal academic. “NO WAY! NO WAY! NO WAY!” She said that if we came 1 year earlier when he was secondary 1, it was possible. My heart was filled with great disappointment. Till today, I couldn’t forget her name.

MORAL OF THE STORY:

LATERAL TRANSFERS ARE NOT POSSIBLE. I.E. NORMAL TECHNICAL TO NORMAL ACADEMIC NOT POSSIBLE.

LEVEL DEMOTION IS NOT POSSIBLE, I.E. SECONDARY 2 NORMAL TECHNICAL TO SECONDARY 1 NORMAL ACADEMIC IS NOT POSSIBLE.

TO GET TO NTU, NUS OR SMU, YOU WILL STILL NEED O LEVELS TO BE EVEN CONSIDERED EVEN IF YOUR DIPLOMA GPA IS 3.6 OUT OF 4.

AND I ALSO KNOW ITS NOT POSSIBLE FOR PRIMARY SCHOOL STUDENTS WHO DID BADLY IN THEIR PSLE TO REPEAT PRIMARY 6.

There is more I am sure.

20130616-133157.jpg

2 comments

  1. nevertoolatetostudy · September 12, 2013

    He can take the O levels as a private candidate.

    Even if a kid did not do psle, he can also take the O levels and A levels as a private candidate.

    Like

  2. mrkenka2013 · July 1, 2014

    Yes, the education system is shitty. Us normal stream students are condemned by the education system.

    Like

Tock cock sing song play mahjong here:

